Board of Directors

Local Leadership


Couleecap is governed by a 24-member Board of Directors comprised of eight members elected by low income people, eight County Board Supervisors, and eight members representing private groups and organizations.


Couleecap's Current Board of Directors

Ellen Barum, La Crosse County                                            Monica Kruse, La Crosse County

Rick Blasing, Monroe County                                               Celesta Leis, Secretary, Monroe County

Bob Brague, La Crosse County                                              Karen Long, Vernon County

Theresa Burns-Gilbert, Monroe County                               Joe McDonald, Vernon County

Karen Dahl, Vernon County                                                  Gail Muller, Vernon County

Maureen Freedland, La Crosse County                                Bill Rudy, Vice Chair, La Crosse County

Mari Freiberg, Monroe County                                             Gary Thompson, Vernon County

Beth Hartung, La Crosse County                                          Albert Wee, Crawford County

Terry Hicks, La Crosse County                                             Katie Westerman, Monroe County

Karen Joos, Monroe County                                                  John Young, Chairman, Crawford County

Larry Kelley, Crawford County




"My involvement with Couleecap is important to me and gives me the opportunity to give back to my community. It really does take a village."

-Couleecap Board member